Facebook announced last week that it’s adding a new “Legacy Contact” option for its users that allows them to pick a special contact who will decide what to do with their Facebook page, profile, messages and more when you pass away. It also allows them to make your page a memorial for you, for others to visit and to remember you.

After someone has contacted Facebook alerting the company about a death, Facebook will turn control of the account to the pre-selected Legacy Contact.

That person will be able to do the following, according to Facebook:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

There’s still a level of privacy, however — your Legacy Contact won’t be able to actually log in as you and so won’t be able to view your private messages, Facebook explained. They can, however, download all of your photos — should you grant permission to do so — and posts, so that everything is saved for history. 

You don’t have to choose a Legacy Contact of course, and you can instead have Facebook delete everything when you pass away – throwing all of those memories into the wind.

For more information about how to create a legacy contact, read this post from Facebook here.